bigDreams online


Foundation News


Scholarship Scramble Raises $30K for Students

The 12th Annual Scholarship Scramble, held at the Talamore Country Club on Sept. 26, raised more than $30,000 to benefit student scholarships. Student Government Association President of West Campus Trayveon Henry provided remarks during dinner. The winning foursome were Board of Trustee Secretary Trudy Mann, Emeritus Foundation Board member Joe Mann, Chris Mann and Rock Irey.

This year's committee members included Co-Chair Bruce Walter, Co-Chair Norm Wilde III, Trudy Mann, John Kwiatkowski, Dan McGill, Rick Cottom, John O'Hara and Aaron Shatzman.

The committee extends a special thanks to lead sponsors: Janney Montgomery Scott, Culinart, CBIZ, Univest, Barnes and Noble. Also, a big thank you to Trudy Mann for preparing the baskets of cheer for raffle prizes. Click to see slide show

Scholarship Scramble
Board of Trustees Chairperson Michael J. D'Aniello, Esquire and Treasurer Regina M. Lowrie greet guests at the Scholarship Scramble dinner following a day on the links.
Photos by Dawn Deppi and Dennis Verbo  

Tierra L. Dobry Foundation – Dental Hygiene Student Scholarship Routes of Hope 5K Run/Walk

The Foundation would like to extend its thanks to the Tierra L. Dobry Foundation for the creation of a scholarship for a Dental Hygiene student.  Routes of Hope a 5K Run/1 Mile Walk was  held at Pope John Paul High School on Nov. 5 in memory of alumna,  Tierra L. Dobry. Tierra spent 30 years of her life working as a dedicated dental hygienist after earning her associate's degree at Montgomery County Community College. In 2010, this talented woman lost her battle with cancer. In her memory and to honor her life's work, the Dobry family created a scholarship fund at the College to enable students to achieve their educational goals and pursue careers in dental hygiene.


College Students

First Dental Hygiene Director Kathy Miller and Bob Miller
  Montgomery County Community College students volunteered at the inaugural Routes of
  Hope 5K Run/Walk and wore pink firefighter hats in support of cancer awareness.
     First Dental Hygiene Director Kathy Miller and Bob Miller, a classmate of Tierra Dobry,       member of the first graduating class of Dental Hygiene students and current faculty       member, attended the Routes of Hope 5K Run/Walk on Nov. 5.
Photo by Debra Khateeb   

Tribute to Arthur Loeben

It is with deep sorrow that we mourn the passing of long-time Montgomery County Community College advocate Arthur Loeben on Oct. 18, 2011 at age 92.

Mr. Loeben (1919-2011) served as the Director of the Montgomery County Planning Commission for 38 years, until his retirement 1995. In that role, he was instrumental in helping to select the location for the College's campuses—first in Conshohocken, and later in Blue Bell.

Along with founding President Dr. Leroy Brendlinger and founding Trustees Dwight Dundore and Charles Kahn, Mr. Loeben served on the Committee to Extend Educational Opportunities in Montgomery County, which in 1962 met with regional stakeholders to garner support for the College's establishment. He was also instrumental in helping Temple University establish its Ambler campus.

Mr. Loeben remained a strong supporter of Montgomery County Community College's mission throughout his life. He funded two student scholarships through the College's Foundation: the Arthur Loeben in Earth Science Scholarship and the Billy Joe Loeben in Music Scholarship, named in memory of his late wife.

     Arthur Loeben, right, with 2010 scholarship recipients Michelle Wallace, Earth Science, and      Brittany Schafer, standing, Music.
Photo by John Welsh   

<< Back